The Fishers Freedom Festival is seeking immediate nominations for the sixth annual “William D. Kehl Jr. Volunteer of the Year” award.  Nominees should be either youth or adults who have gone above and beyond to help or support others.  The deadline for nominations is Tuesday, May 15.

All nominees must be a resident within the Town of Fishers or the Hamilton Southeastern School District.  List your name, address, phone and email address along with your nominee’s name, address, phone and email address.  Please detail the nominee’s particular qualities and the impact they have had on an individual, organization, or the Town of Fishers within 1000 words or less.

Your nomination letter will be presented to a panel of judges who review all nominations and select the winner based on the following criteria:

  • Nominee has been exceptionally dedicated and committed.
  • Nominee has contributed innovative ideas that produced great results for an individual, organization, or the Town of Fishers.
  • Nominee has been a role-model to other volunteers.
  • Nominee has made a definable difference that had a positive impact on an individual, organization, or the Town of Fishers.

Nomination information is available online at or by mailing all of the appropriate information to Fishers Freedom Festival, P.O. Box 930, Fishers, IN 46038-0930.  The 2012 award will be presented to the winner at the Fishers Freedom Festival held Saturday, June 23 during the Opening Ceremonies.

This award was named in loving memory of William D. Kehl Jr. whose life was tragically cut short and who dedicated many years to the Fishers Freedom Festival and the Town of Fishers.  He was an intricate part of our community and will always be remembered for his wonderful sense of humor, his drive to be the best at everything, and his absolute dedication to his community.  Past recipients include Dub and Jeanne Clark in 2007, Mary Pat McKee in 2008, Deta Lasley in 2009, Brad Jackson in 2010 and Ellen Huckabee in 2011.